Stank Face

Why does some ones achievement sometimes mean burn the witch?

Is it my fault you don’t come to class as much as I do?

So you have a family, I don’t. I don’t make dinner for others, there is no one waiting for me with a hug, a smile and a kiss. No one depends on me for anything really, if I choke and die, it might be a week before they even come looking.

I go to class because alone with the TV is not the alternative I choose.

It’s just me and the quadrupeds.

So I go to class.

It fills my whole.

So after a year and a half of me going to class 4 times a week for 2 and a half hours in a go and you maybe getting there once a month, if my tour jete kicks your ass, that is not my problem. Stop giving me the looks. Stank face. There’s a mirror, we are surrounded by them, hold it up to yourself.

I don’t hate you for having something that I don’t.

I hate you because you hate me for no good reason. Seriously. Hate me because I keyed your car. Hate me because I yell at you and call you names. Hate me because I was mean to your child or made a pass at your husband. But I have never come close to doing any of that. I don’t know who you are, let alone know your name, and yet I hate you because you hate yourself and I am your current scapegoat for all that self loathing.

It is so much easier to hate me then admit how much you hate yourself.

And you hate me and for doing what? Getting better at something I work hard at.

Well done you.

About TheSpinningDancer

I am a follower of the Church of Dance. Dream Bunnies and Mourning Doves follow me at night.
This entry was posted in ballet, dance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stank Face

  1. I know you posted this almost a year ago but when I read it, it really resonated with me and made me change the way I think about things and how I interact with people. Yes, there is something to say about natural talent BUT you definitely shouldn’t be stank facing someone who has been in class while you’ve been slacking on the couch. Also, when a coworker is somehow traveling more than you are – its not because you can’t do the same… it’s because you chose to use your money on dance so no stank face required! 🙂 Thank you for calling out something that needed to be called out. I appreciate it more than you know.

    Your activeness in dancing and your lovely blog are really an inspiration and after reading this post and checking out the rest of your blog I decided to nominate you for a Liebster Blog Award! It’s a way to pay it forward and show appreciation for you and your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

